Task Group 36
Radiation Dose to Patients in Diagnostic Nuclear Medicine

A Task Group under Committee 2 and Committee 3

The objective of the TG is to develop dose coefficients for radiopharmaceuticals administered to patients in diagnostic nuclear medicine.

The main work of the TG is to update Publication 128 (2015) by values calculated using new ICRP adult and paediatric reference voxel phantoms, Publication 107 nuclear decay data and Publication 103 dosimetry methodology, as well as to develop biokinetic models for new substances and to identify substances contained in Publication 128 where model improvements are needed. As far as reasonable, a harmonisation of dosimetric and biokinetic models with those developed by TG 95 (IDC) for the ICRP OIR and EIR documents is intended.

For the calculation of dose coefficients for patients, the new dosimetric and biokinetic models are implemented into the computer code IDAC-Dose2.1, considered as the reference benchmark. Quality assurance of the calculations is conducted using software codes developed independently at BfS, Helmholtz Zentrum Munich, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, ORNL and in collaboration with EURADOS.


Within the mandate of TG 36, a free and noncommercial mobile app has been developed. The mobile app is a simple tool, which provides effective dose and organ doses values for intakes of radionuclides for occupationally exposed individuals, members of the public and for patients in diagnostic nuclear medicine.

CLICK HERE to learn more about ICRP Dose Viewer


Augusto Giussani (Chair), Federal Office for Radiation Protection (BfS), Germany
Sren Mattsson (Honourary Co-Chair), Skne University Hospital Malm and Lund University, Sweden
Martin Andersson (Secretary), Gothenburg University , Sweden
Makoto Hosono (Member), Kindai University, Japan
Derek Jokisch (Member), Francis Marion University, USA
Alexandra Kamp (Member), Federal Office for Radiation Protection (BfS), Germany
Keon Kang (Member), Seoul National University, Korea
Sigrid Leide-Svegborn (Member), Skane University Hospital Malm, Sweden
Dietmar Nosske (Member), Germany
Juan Camilo Ocampo Ramos (Member), Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, USA
Nina Petoussi-Henss (Member), Federal Office for Radiation Protection (BfS), Germany
Kuangyu Shi (Member), University of Bern , Switzerland
Lars Sderberg (Member), Skåne University Hospital, Sweden
Franklin Eze (Technical Secretary), Mercy Radiology, New Zealand