Main Commission



The International Commission on Radiological Protection is an independent Registered Charity, established to advance for the public benefit the science of radiological protection, in particular by providing recommendations and guidance on all aspects of protection against ionising radiation. The Main Commission is the governing body, setting policy and giving general direction.

Adelaide, November 2019

Back Row (L-R): Michiaki Kai (Japan), Werner Ruhm (Germany), Dominique Laurier (France), John Harrison (United Kingdom), Carl-Magnus Larsson (Australia), Sergey Romanov (Russian Federation), Simon Bouffler (United Kingdom)

Front Row (L-R): Kimberly Applegate (United States), Donald Cool (United States), Jacques Lochard (Vice-Chair, France), Claire Cousins (Chair, United Kingdom), Christopher Clement (Scientific Secretary, Canada), Kunwoo Cho (South Korea), Senlin Liu (China)

Summaries of ICRP Main Commission Meetings:

Claire Cousins (Chair), Addenbrooke's Hospital (retired), United Kingdom
Jacques Lochard (Vice-Chair), Nagasaki University & Hiroshima University, France
Christopher H. Clement (Scientific Secretary), ICRP, Canada
Kimberly Applegate (Member), University of Kentucky COM (retired), USA
Simon Bouffler (Member), PHE, United Kingdom
Kun-Woo Cho (Member), Korea Institute of Nuclear Safety, Korea
Donald A. Cool (Member), Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), USA
John D. Harrison (Member), Oxford Brookes University and Public Health England, United Kingdom
Michiaki Kai (Member), Nippon Bunri University (NBU), Japan
Carl-Magnus Larsson (Member), Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA), Australia
Dominique Laurier (Member), French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France
Senlin Liu (Member), China Institute of Atomic Energy, China
Sergey Romanov (Member), Southern Ural Biophisics Institute, USSR/Russian Federation
Werner Rhm (Member), Helmholtz Zentrum Mnchen, Germany
Roger H. Clarke (Member emeritus), United Kingdom
Fred A. Mettler (Member emeritus), University of New Mexico, USA
R. Jan Pentreath (Member emeritus), United Kingdom
R. Julian Preston (Member emeritus), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), USA
Christian Streffer (Member emeritus), Germany
Eliseo Va (Member emeritus), Complutense University, Spain
Franois Bochud (Member elect), IRA CHUV, Switzerland
Gillian Hirth (Member elect), ARPANSA, Australia
Thierry Schneider (Member elect), CEPN, France
Andrzej Wojcik (Member elect), Centre for Radiation Protection Research, Stockholm University, Sweden

Active Task Groups under Main Commission