Task Group 95
Internal Dose Coefficients

A Task Group under Committee 2

The objectives of this TG are to continue and finish the work initiated by INDOS on the revision of the ICRP 30 series. The deliverables are report series providing dose coefficients for occupational (OIR) and public intake of radionuclides.

The work initiated by INDOS these last few years was dedicated to the revision of the biokinetic models following inhalation and ingestion of different chemical forms of elements and their radioisotopes by workers. Revisions have also been made on many models for the systemic biokinetics of radionuclides absorbed to blood, making them more physiologically realistic representations of uptake and retention in organs and tissues and of excretion. All these data are planned to be published in the OIR reports together with new dose coefficients and data for the interpretation of bioassay measurements. 

The three first reports of this series have already been submitted for public consultation. OIR Part 1 provides description on control of occupational exposures, biokinetic and dosimetric models, monitoring methods, monitoring programmes and retrospective dose assessment. OIR Parts 2 and 3 provide data on 28 individual elements and their radioisotopes, including biokinetic data and models. Dose coefficients and data for bioassay interpretation for these 28 elements still need to be produced. OIR Parts 4 and 5 gives the other elements, including actinides and lanthanides.

In parallel to this task, the TG addresses the need to revise the biokinetic and dosimetric models for the members of the public. The TG therefore adapts the biokinetic models developed in the workers series to take into account specific chemical forms from the environment and different age groups. Similarly to the OIR Series, the TG produces dose coefficients for easy calculation of dose after intake at different age, including nursing infant, embryo and fetus. 

Francois Paquet (Chair), French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France
Eric Ansoborlo (Member), CEA, France
Michael R. Bailey (Member), United Kingdom
Volodymyr Berkovskyy (Member), Ukrainian Radiation Protection Institute (RPI) and National Research Center for Radiation Medicine (NRCRM), Ukraine
Luiz Bertelli (Member), Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
Eric Blanchardon (Member), French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France
Estelle Davesne (Member), CEA, France
George Etherington (Member), Public Health England (PHE), United Kingdom
Augusto Giussani (Member), Federal Office for Radiation Protection (BfS), Germany
Demetrio Gregoratto (Member), PHE, United Kingdom
Stephanie Lamart (Member), French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France
Rich Leggett (Member), Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), USA
James W Marsh (Member), Health Protection Agency (HPA), United Kingdom
Dunstana Melo (Member), Melohill Technology, USA
Dietmar Nosske (Member), Germany
Gennadii Ratia (Member), RPI, Ukraine
Tracy Smith (Member), Public Health England, United Kingdom