Task Group 98
Application of the Commission's Recommendations to Exposures Resulting from Contaminated Sites from Past Industrial, Military and Nuclear Activities

A Task Group under Committee 4

The mandate of this Task Group is to develop a report that describes and clarifies the application of the Commission’s Recommendations on radiological protection of workers, the public, and environment to exposures resulting from sites contaminated due to past industrial, military and nuclear activities.

The scope of the report will cover the sites contaminated by residual radioactive material arising from past activities that were never subject to regulatory control or that were subject to regulatory control but not in accordance with current Recommendations. It does not address the issues on radiological protection related to contaminated territories following nuclear or radiological accidents, which are in the scope of TG 93.

Aspects to consider are the characterization of the sources, exposure pathways, assessment of dose distribution, categories of exposure (occupational, public), protection of the environment, and the setting of reference levels for the implementation of sustainable protection strategies. Stakeholder involvement in all steps of the process will be considered.

The publication will consider previous Publications related to detailed consideration of existing exposure situations (Pub 82, 111, 126, TG76, TG83), in light of the Commission’s current Recommendations.



ICRP 2023 Poster

Michael Boyd (Chair), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (retired), USA
Analia Canoba (Vice-Chair), Autoridad Regulatoria Nuclear (ARN), Argentina
Ludovic Vaillant (Secretary), CEPN, France
Edward (Ted) Lazo (Member), OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) - retired, France
Stephen Long (Member), Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency, Australia
Corynne McGuire (Member), United Kingdom
Arthur Rood (Member), K-Spar, USA
Sergey Shinkarev (Member), Burnasyan Federal Medical Biophysical Center, Russian Federation
Graham Smith (Member), GMS Abingdon Ltd, United Kingdom
Malgorzata Sneve (Member), Norwegian Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (DSA), Norway
Tamara Yankovich (Member), Austria
Hiroshi Yasuda (Member), Hiroshima University, Japan
Adrienne Ethier (Technical Secretary), Canada
Joanne Brown (Representative), International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Austria
Olvido Guzman (Representative), International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Austria