Task Group 99
Reference Animals and Plants (RAPs) Monographs

A Task Group under Committee 1 and Committee 4

A 2-step work programme is proposed to gather and update basic data and guidance for the best use and practices of RAPs in support of the application of the system of radiological protection of the environment in planned, emergency and existing exposure situations. 

Step 1 will consist in implementing a scoping analysis to evaluate the completeness of RAPs-specific and associated data with regard to transfer, dosimetry and effects. On the basis of various inference approaches, it will be outlined to which extent any RAP is representative of a group of species, e.g., at the taxonomic class- and wildlife group- level. Finally, a user-friendly structure of all the needed information will be decided and populated in a series of monographs during step 2.

The present work will be based on ICRP Publication 108, 114, 124, and reports from TG74 and TG82. It will deliver “companion” publications such as a set of monographs, to be published in the Annals of the ICRP. Monographs (likely ca. 100 pages each) could be elaborated at the wildlife group level, namely plants, invertebrates and vertebrates, where RAP-related knowledge will be highlighted and organized through the three main components of risk assessment: transfers and dosimetry, effects and risk characterization. 

Jacqueline Garnier-Laplace (Chair), OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), France
Christelle Adam-Guillermin (Member), IRSN, France
Frederic Alonzo (Member), French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France
Karine Beaugelin-Seiller (Member), Institut de Radioprotection et de Sret Nuclaire (IRSN), France
Nick Beresford (Member), UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, United Kingdom
Justin Brown (Member), Norwegian Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (DSA), Norway
Kathryn A Higley (Member), Oregon State University, USA
Carl-Magnus Larsson (Member), Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA), Australia
Almudena Real (Member), CIEMAT, Spain
Per Strand (Member), Norwegian Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (DSA), Norway
Claire Della Vedova (Member), French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France
Jordi Vives Batlle (Member), Belgian Nuclear Research Centre (SCK CEN), Belgium
Tamara Yankovich (Member), International Atomic Energy Agency, Austria
Katherine Raines (Member (Mentee)), United Kingdom