Task Group 97
Application of the Commission's Recommendations for Surface and Near Surface Disposal of Solid Radioactive Waste

A Task Group under Committee 4

The mandate of this Task Group is to prepare a publication, in conjunction with the waste management community that describes in plain language and clarifies the application of the Commission’s recommendations for the protection of the public and workers (Publications 101 & 103) as well as the environment (Publication 124) as applicable to surface and near surface disposal of radioactive waste. The report will be a companion to Publication 122.

The publication will discuss:

  • How the fundamental radiation protection principles are to be applied over the life cycle of surface and near surface disposal including the transitioning from planned exposure to existing exposure situation in the case of a loss of institutional control.
  • Application of the graded approach in implementing the protection principles and advice in all facets of a facility’s life cycle, based on the hazard posed, including the degree of isolation of the waste.
  • Dialogue amongst regulators, implementers and relevant stakeholder’s concerning the practical implementation of the Commission’s recommendations.

The new publication will be drafted as a standalone document in coherence with Publication 122 without unnecessary repetition. The objective is to complement the previous publication.

The publication will consider Publications 46, 77, and 81 in light of the Commission’s current recommendations, taking into account recent international experience.



ICRP 2023 Poster

John Takala (Chair), Cameco Corporation, Canada
Francois Besnus (Member), French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France
Takeshi Iimoto (Member), The University of Tokyo, Japan
Gloria Kwong (Member), OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), France
Carl-Magnus Larsson (Member), Norwegian Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority, Norway
Christepher McKenney (Member), Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), USA
Phil Metcalf (Member), South Africa
Jean-Paul Minon (Member), Belgium
Andrew Orrell (Member), USA
Thiagan Pather (Member), National Nuclear Regulator, South Africa
Behnam Taebi (Member), Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, USA
Gerard Bruno (Representative), International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Austria