ICRP Announces Passing of Former Main Commission Member Leonid A. Ilyin



March 15th, 1928 – October 7th, 2023

Academician Leonid A. Ilyin, the great scientist, the founder of radiation medicine, the Hero of Socialist Labor, laureate of State Prizes of the USSR and the Russian Federation one of the most prominent Soviet and Russian figures in medical science, twice laureate of the Government of the Russian Federation, M.D., Professor, Honorary President of the State Research Center − Burnasyan Federal Medical Biophysical Center of Federal Medical Biological Agency (SRC - FMBC) passed away on October 7, 2023.

Leonid Ilyin was the outstanding doctor, scientist, teacher, and person. He conducted pioneer research in radiation medicine. His fundamental and clinical research in the field radiobiology, radiation protection became the basis of the Russian scientific school of radiation hygiene.

Leonid A. Ilyin dedicated his life to serving the Country, medicine and science. With his selfless work, he contributed much to the further development of the Russian sovereignty and the supremacy of radiobiological medicine, which has now become the symbol of the world safety standard.

The works of Academician Ilyin, consisting of more than 450 articles, 20 books, textbooks, received various awards and state prizes. They form the fundamental education basis for the specialists in the specialists in the field of radiobiological safety, ecology and protection.

Thanks to the talent of Academician Ilyin, as the leader and the scientist, the SRC - FMBC can rightfully be proud of its outstanding colleagues and highly qualified specialists who have made an invaluable contribution to the development of biophysics, radiation and nuclear medicine, radiation safety, emergency response, radiobiology, modern methods for diagnosing diseases and innovative biomedical technologies today.

The book “Nuclear War: Medical and Biological Consequences” by L. Ilyin has been translated into 5 foreign languages. It became a reference book for many world leaders, as well.

In 1980, in Geneva, three Soviet scientists (E. I. Chazov, L. A. Ilyin, M. I. Kuzin) and three American scientists (B. Laun, E. Chevian, G. Miller) founded the international movement “International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War." In 1985, this movement was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

Leonid Ilyin was uncompromising in the issues of upholding the values ​​of the true science. He gained the highest authority and deepest respect of the international scientific community and among the colleagues thanks to his ability to maintain his scientific and civic position.

The passing of Leonid A. Ilyin is an irreparable loss for the national and world science.